2021 Virtual Annual Conference

Posted

Annual Meeting on Sat. Sept. 11, 2021  The starting time will be 10 am Pacific ; 11 am Mountain ; 12 pm Central ; 1 pm Eastern The Agenda will include the usual items – Approval of 2020 Minutes – Officer and Committee reports – Election of Officers for 2021-2023 – Where to hold the […]

The Revival of the Masonic Book Club

Posted

The Masonic Book Club (MBC) was formed in 1970 by two Illinois Masons, Alphonse Cerza and Louis Williams. The MBC primarily reprinted out-of-print Masonic books with a scholarly introduction; occasionally they would print original texts. In 2017 MW Barry Weer, 33°, the last president of the MBC, transferred the MBC name and assets to the Supreme Council, […]

Mini Crash-Course in Librarian- and Curatorship

Posted

Submitted January 2011, sections amended November 2019 Let people know about your library and/or museum! If no one ever uses the collections, their value diminishes and your library-museum becomes only a well-catalogued storehouse. Make suggestions and otherwise offer to help the patrons navigate the collection. Smile! Actually put an item or two (if appropriate) into […]

2019 Annual Conference

Posted

Detroit was the place to be in September 2019! Over twenty of us experienced the Motor City as we attended our annual meeting at The Detroit Masonic Temple Library, Archive, and Research Center. There were great speakers and presentations. The discussions and networking opportunities were valuable for everyone. A draft copy of the minutes will […]

Exhibit Tips

Posted

By Amiee Newell Select a Theme: The theme can be grand or small, specific or general. A theme helps with planning and with publicizing the exhibit. A theme can be as simple as “treasures of the collection” or “Masonic badges and jewels.” Or it can be more directed, perhaps relating to a specific person, lodge […]